The Vision for Jewell's Future

Jewell's leaders support our mission, uphold our values and help us think the world forward.

Leadership and Mission

William Jewell College is governed by a Board of Trustees, with day-to-day oversight by the president and members of the cabinet. Our leadership groups work closely together, planning for the future of the College and securing Jewell's vision.

Our Mission

We educate our community to ask reflective questions, apply critical thought and act with purpose.


Our Values

We flourish by valuing:

Authentic Engagement
Courageous Citizenship
Creative Expression
Inclusive Communities
Innovative Thought
Spiritual Exploration


Strategic Plan

Jewell's Leadership team outlined its vision for the College in this Strategic Plan 2023.

President Elizabeth MacLeod Walls

President MacLeod Walls portraitDr. Elizabeth MacLeod Walls serves as the fifteenth President of William Jewell College. Before joining Jewell in 2016, she served in numerous academic and senior leadership roles in higher education, most recently as Dean of University College at Nebraska Wesleyan University. Dr. MacLeod Walls is the author of numerous refereed books and articles, and earned her Ph.D. in English Literature and Classical Rhetoric (highest distinction) from TCU and her Bachelor of Arts degree in English and History (Phi Beta Kappa) at Hiram College. She also is an alumna of the Harvard New Presidents Program, the Harvard Management and Leadership in Education Program, ACE Women’s Leadership Program and the Lilly Family School of Philanthropy Programs.  She currently serves on the Board of the Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) and is active in higher education leadership and advocacy.

Dr. MacLeod Walls nurtures a strong belief in higher education as a component of civic vitality, which is why she serves on the Boards of the Kansas City Area Chamber of Commerce, the Kansas City Area Development Council, the Liberty Economic Development Council, the KC Rising Steering Committee, and the Keystone Community Corporation overseeing Kansas City’s burgeoning Innovation Hub. Dr. MacLeod Walls is married to Rev. Dr. Craig MacLeod Walls and is the proud mother of two sons, Alec and John.


Meet our Leadership members

  • Cabinet

    Dr. Elizabeth MacLeod Walls
    816-415-5026 |
    Bachelor of Arts degree from Hiram College and doctorate from TCU (hired 2016)

    Dr. Gary Armstong
    Interim Vice President of Academic Affairs; Professor of Political Science
    816-415-7653 |
    Bachelor of Arts from University of Oklahoma; Ph.D. from Georgetown University (hired 1992)

    Mr. Eric Blair
    Vice President of Marketing, Enrollment and Student Life
    816-415-5217 |
    Bachelor of Arts degree from William Jewell College and Master's of Public Administration from Park University (hired 2019)

    Mr. Daniel Holt
    Vice President for Finance and Operations/Chief Financial Officer/Chief Operating Officer
    816-415-5977 |
    Bachelor of Science degree from University of Central Missouri; Master of Business Administration degree from University of Phoenix (hired 2004)

    Mr. Clark Morris
    Vice President for Institutional Advancement, Executive and Artistic Director of the Harriman-Jewell Series
    816-415-5997 |
    Bachelor of Arts degree from William Jewell College, Master of Business Administration degree from Mid-America Nazarene University, graduate of the Executive Program for Non-Profit Leaders in the Arts at the Stanford Graduate School of Business (hired 1990)

    Toggle Accordion
  • Board of Trustees

    Gary V. Ainsworth, ’82, Lexington, Mass.
    Gary D. Barnes, ’75, Liberty
    W. Russ Cline Jr., ’71, Lee’s Summit
    William C. Gautreaux, ’85, Kansas CIty
    Jason L. Houseworth, ’96, Olathe, Kan.
    Steven M. Karbank, Kansas City
    Jason O. Klumb, ’90, Kansas City
    Aimée G. Larrabee, Kansas City
    Patrick J. McCown, Overland Park, Kan.
    David F. Oliver, Kansas City
    W. Keith Pence, Leawood, Kan.
    Sarah Fidler Rowland, Kansas City
    Margo A. Shepard, Kansas City
    Angela Andresen Smart, Fairway, Kan.
    Antwaun Smith, Columbia
    Bradley N. Sprong, ’86, Overland Park, Kan.
    Qiana F. Thomason, Overland Park, Kan.
    David Warm, Kansas City
    Diane E. H. Webber, ’81, Alexandria, Va.
    Todd E. White, ’85, Kansas City, Mo.

    Toggle Accordion
  • Advisory Trustees

    Jonathan M. Kemper, Kansas City
    Helmar E. Nielsen, ’58, St. Petersburg, Fla.
    William D. Snyder, ’62, Manhattan, Kansas

    Toggle Accordion
  • Emeritus Trustees

    Julius J. Anderson, Jr., ’71, Naples, Fla.
    Robert A. Bernstein, Kansas City, Mo.
    David D. Burhans, ’61, Richmond, Va.
    Edward D. Douglas, Chillicothe
    William E. Dreyer, ’60, San Antonio, Texas
    John R. Gill, ’79, Kansas City
    Eileen L. Houston-Stewart, ’79, St. Joseph
    Burnell Landers, ’60, Kearney
    Ollie Malone, Jr., ’75, Coppell, Texas
    James W. McCrossen, Overland Park, Kan.
    James K. Pierce, ’66, Lake Jackson, Texas
    W. Edward Place, ’82, Kansas City
    Fred H. Pryor, ’56, Kansas City
    Linda J. Roos, ’68, St. Louis
    Dianne C. Shumaker, ’66, Overland Park, Kan.
    Joy L. Steincross, Kansas City
    William E. Turnage, ’47, Jacksonville, Fla.
    John F. White, ’67, Mount Pleasant, S.C.
    Thomas R. Willard, ’76, Mission Hills, Kan.

    Toggle Accordion